Four basic denominations of Hinduism

Based on central deities, Hinduism has four basic denominations

Apart from these four major denominations, there are minor denominations as Shrauta, Ganpata, Surya, Kumara, etc. denoting the polycentralism allowed in Hinduism.


This sects worships Lord Vishnu and his ten avatars, or forms. The most prominent among them are Lord Ram and Lord Krishna.


This sect considers energy as an embodiment of the divine feminine, the supreme goddess being Adi Prashakti.


This sect worships Lord Shiva as the supreme creator and destroyer, in both his immanent and transcendent forms.


This sect believes all deities to be equal, and encourages worship of the Panchdevata – Ganesha, Shiva, Shakti, Vishnu, and Surya.

To know more, Click Here

All rights reserved Digital Marketing by ETL Labs.